Why You Should Never Keep Your Common Password On Random Websites

My recent experience while applying for an internship

Suraj Ghimire, MSc
2 min readJan 9, 2021
Photo by Dan Nelson on Unsplash

I am actively applying for Data Science Internship. LinkedIn is one source where I get to know about different job opportunities. In my recent search for a Data Science internship, I clicked an internship offer on LinkedIn. It sent me to the external site. The site asked me to create an account.

While creating an account, I normally let Chrome or Mozilla suggest a strong password. On this site, Google had suggested none. I thought there must be some wrong. So, I generated a random password and finished creating an account.

I added my resume as I thought they are an authorized portal for the particular internship I was applying for. I was wrong.

The site instead sent me to another site where I had to register again. I realized that the first site was a phishing site, and it was doing nothing but collecting my email id (and maybe the probable password).

I had heard from many of my friends that such sites are spam, and they use our email for promotional content. They can also hack our accounts associated with other sites because people are mostly used to keep common passwords.

--

--

Suraj Ghimire, MSc

An experienced Data Scientist, I write stories of a random heart that I come across | Connect with me https://linktr.ee/authorsuraj